Serena Angelique Valazquez ©Caleb Cole
2020 Alternative Processes First Place Winner

Paula Tognarelli

Soho Photo Gallery’s 17th International Alternative Processes Competition has closed. The winner will be featured on both our website and the Griffin Museum of Photography’s website beginning December 10th until February 27nd. There will be an Artists’ Reception on Zoom with our juror, Paula Tongarelli on Wednesday, December 15th. To enter the 18th International Alternative Processes Competition please check back next fall.

Alternative processes include, but are not limited to: Albumen, Cyanotype, Van Dyke Brown, Platinum/ Palladium, Gum Bichromate, Bromoil, Salt Print, Tintype, Ziatype, Daguerreotype, Image Transfers, Liquid Emulsion, Photogravure, Chemigram, as well as handmade prints created from digital negatives.  Traditional silver gelatin prints, C-prints and digital prints are not eligible.

The Juror
This year’s juror is Paula Tognarelli, the Executive Director and Curator of the Griffin Museum of Photography, in Winchester, Mass. The Griffin’s mission is to promote an appreciation of photographic art and a broader understandingof its visual, emotional and social impact. Ms. Tognarelli has BAs from Regis College and the New England School of Photography. Prior to her career as an arts administrator, she spent 25 years in the printing industry and was named one of 12 women in the U.S. who contributed to moving the industry from an analog workflow to a completely digital one.

First, second, and third place will be awarded, as well as two or more honorable mentions.

The competition is open to all photographers age 18 years old and older, excluding members of Soho Photo Gallery. Use the Enter link below where you will find submission instructions to upload your digital entries and payment.

Contact Myra Hafetz using the form below.

Important Dates
Deadline for Submission: October 27, 2021
Exhibition: December 10 – February 27, 2022


Links to Recent Past Alternative Process Competitions:

2020 Alternative Processes Competition

2019 Alternative Processes Competition



Myra Hafetz

Myra Hafetz