Membership

Members of Soho Photo are part of a cooperative gallery with deep roots in the New York City photographic community.

Membership offers access to a diverse and supportive community of photographers and the opportunity to exhibit your work throughout the year. Members participate actively on at least one committee or take on at least one ongoing service commitment to the gallery, based on individual skills and interests.

Who Should Apply?
We’re looking for artists with a passion for photography, a clear and meaningful photographic vision, an appreciation for the craft and a willingness to participate in the operation of the gallery. We’re open to new ideas. Some of our members strive to re-imagine the meaning, value, and boundaries of photography, others to perfect a particular thread or technique.

Talk to Us
Before you apply for membership we suggest that you come to the gallery and talk with our members. You can contact us to set up an appointment using the form below or just drop by during regular hours.

The Application Process
Generally, portfolios are reviewed the Portfolio Review Committee starting at 10:00am typically on the first Saturday of every month except August (see dates below). A portfolio is a cohesive body of 12 to 20 prints representing a distinct theme or an on-going project illustrating:

  • Skill as a photographer
  • Editing proficiency
  • Ability to present exhibition-quality prints

Your prints should be unframed, but appropriately matted or presented according to your vision, as though you were preparing for an actual exhibition. If you plan to display your work in any manner other than traditional framing, please give us a very brief description of what you intend to do.

Drop off your print portfolio, completed artist membership application at the gallery at 10:00am sharp on the review day or during our regular hours during the month prior to the Saturday review. A $50.00 non–refundable deposit is required upon submission of your portfolio. The deposit will be credited towards your first year’s dues if your portfolio is approved for membership.

All Soho Photo Gallery members may participate in the Portfolio Review Committee. Prospective new member portfolios are placed on easels so members can view and discuss your photographs. The committee members then gather to share their responses to the portfolio while notes on the discussion are recorded.

Please arrive at the gallery at 12:30pm or arrange to speak on the phone with a member of the Portfolio Review Committee if you are remote. This member will have conversation with you, let you know whether or not if you’ve been accepted and share the reactions, advice and insights of the committee.

Membership
Membership enables you to exhibit your work throughout the year and requires your active participation in the running of the gallery. Responsibilities include:

  • Participating in on-going service commitments, some of which can be conducted remotely
  • Sitting, or arranging for sitting in order to keep the gallery open, especially during the month you’re exhibiting
  • Framing, hanging, removing your show and prepping the walls, or arranging to have it done
  • Arranging for the transport of your work to and from the gallery

2018 Portfolio Review Dates
January 6, 2018
February 3, 2018
March 3, 2018
April 7, 2018
May 5, 2018
June 2, 2018
July 7, 2018
September 8, 2018
October 6, 2018
November 3, 2018
December 1, 2018

Download the Membership Application with instructions to print out the form, fill it out, include it with the portfolio and provide the $50.00 fee, either a check or cash at the portfolio review.

If you are not able to drop off your portfolio personally, your portfolio must arrive at the gallery by the first Friday of the month prior to the Portfolio Review Committee meeting on Saturday. If the portfolio is being shipped, a return label must be included. Otherwise, the portfolio becomes the property of the gallery and can be disposed of at our discretion.

Fees
General Membership: US$750.00/year
Plus one-time US$200.00 building fee

Young Artist Membership: US$250.00/year (35 years of age or younger)
 Plus one-time US$200.00 building fee

Payment is due upon acceptance to Soho Photo Gallery.

Contact

Larry Davis

Larry Davis

Membership Coordinator

 

14 + 12 =

Martin Rich<br/>www.merphoto.net
Martin Rich
www.merphoto.net
Norm Borden<br/>www.normanbordenphoto.com
Norm Borden
www.normanbordenphoto.com
Myra Hafetz
Myra Hafetz
Jake Lambroza<br/>www.lambrozaphoto.com
Jake Lambroza
www.lambrozaphoto.com
Hans_Weiss<br/>www.hansweiss.com
Hans_Weiss
www.hansweiss.com
Hoffman Kenneth<br/>www.kennethhoffman.smugmug.com
Hoffman Kenneth
www.kennethhoffman.smugmug.com
Peter Agron<br/>
Peter Agron
Ronaldo Aguiar<br/>www.ronaldoaguiar.com
Ronaldo Aguiar
www.ronaldoaguiar.com
David Aimone<br/>www.aimonephoto.com
David Aimone
www.aimonephoto.com
Lee Backer<br/>
Lee Backer
Emmanuel F. Bastien<br/>www.manuphotos.com
Emmanuel F. Bastien
www.manuphotos.com
Susan Bowen<br/>www.susanbowenphoto.com
Susan Bowen
www.susanbowenphoto.com
Sandra Carrion<br/>www.sandracarrion.com
Sandra Carrion
www.sandracarrion.com
John Custodio<br/>www.JohnCustodio.com
John Custodio
www.JohnCustodio.com
Larry Davis<br/>
Larry Davis
Ruth Formanek<br/>
Ruth Formanek
Rosalie Frost<br/>www.rosaliefrostphotography.com
Rosalie Frost
www.rosaliefrostphotography.com
Steven Gilbert<br/>www.stevenmacgilbert.com
Steven Gilbert
www.stevenmacgilbert.com
Lawrence Gottesman<br/>www.lawrencegottesmanphotography.com
Lawrence Gottesman
www.lawrencegottesmanphotography.com
Irene Greenberg<br/>
Irene Greenberg
George Greenstein<br/>www3.amherst.edu/~gsgreenstein/photography/
George Greenstein
www3.amherst.edu/~gsgreenstein/photography/
Barry Guthertz<br/>www.barryguthertz.com
Barry Guthertz
www.barryguthertz.com
Leslie Hanes<br/>www.lesliehanes.com.
Leslie Hanes
www.lesliehanes.com.
Ellen Jacob<br/>www.ellenjacob.com
Ellen Jacob
www.ellenjacob.com
Robert Kalman<br/>www.robertkalmanweb.com
Robert Kalman
www.robertkalmanweb.com
Arnold Kastenbaum<br/>www.akastenbaum.com
Arnold Kastenbaum
www.akastenbaum.com
BT Kim<br/>
BT Kim
David Kutz<br/>www.davidkutz.com
David Kutz
www.davidkutz.com
James Lattanzio<br/>www.jameslattanzio.com
James Lattanzio
www.jameslattanzio.com
Neil Lawner<br/>www.neillawnerphoto.com
Neil Lawner
www.neillawnerphoto.com
Bob Leonard<br/>
Bob Leonard
Pierre-Yves Linot<br/>www.4stones.info
Pierre-Yves Linot
www.4stones.info
Lois Youmans <br/>www.loisyoumans.com
Lois Youmans
www.loisyoumans.com
John Mancia<br/>www.johnmancia.com
John Mancia
www.johnmancia.com
Silvia Marinari<br/>
Silvia Marinari
Allan Markman<br/>www.allanmarkman.com
Allan Markman
www.allanmarkman.com
David Miller<br/>www.what-the-traveler-saw.com
David Miller
www.what-the-traveler-saw.com
Wayne Parsons<br/>www.rwayneparsons.com.
Wayne Parsons
www.rwayneparsons.com.
Lynn Passy<br/>
Lynn Passy
Ruth Raskin<br/>www.ruthraskin.com.
Ruth Raskin
www.ruthraskin.com.
Linda Sandow<br/>www.lindasandow.com
Linda Sandow
www.lindasandow.com
Marcia Soloff<br/>
Marcia Soloff
Paul Stein<br/>www.paulsteinalibis.com
Paul Stein
www.paulsteinalibis.com
Seena Sussman<br/>
Seena Sussman
Bill Travis<br/>www.billtravisphoto.com
Bill Travis
www.billtravisphoto.com
Dominique Vinciguerra<br/>www.dominiquevinciguerraphotographe.com
Dominique Vinciguerra
www.dominiquevinciguerraphotographe.com
Bruce Wodder<br/>
Bruce Wodder